Easter & 2 Years

It’s Easter! The day of tulips and eggs and an empty tomb!

It’s also exactly 2 years from the day I first met my sons.

Today I celebrate the spiritual reality that, although I was once in the family of darkness, I am now in the family of Jesus.

Colossians 1:13

13 For he has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the Kingdom of his dear Son,

This is a time to remember when Jesus came to our world, even though we did not know who He was, and this earth was not His home, He came into our community…  came to be my friend… came to be my Savior… came to die in my place… so that He could invite me into His family.

Today I also celebrate the significance that, although Daniel and Judah were once strangers to me, far away in a land and a place I did not know, on this anniversary I remember when I came into Daniel and Judah’s world… came into their community… came to attend a court meeting and check off a lot of logistical boxes… so that we could invite them into our family.

Today, I celebrate that Jesus rose from the dead, and and His new life means that means that I get new life too – new life to live here as a daughter of my Father in Heaven, and new life to live for all eternity as part of the family of God.

Today, I celebrate that a judge in a land far away pounded her gavel two years ago, and that means Judah and Daniel get to live a new life here as sons of mine and my husband. They will live for the rest of their lives as part of the family of the Creps’s.

FullSizeRender (7)

The parallels are so beautiful – God allows me to see a little picture of what the Bible means when it talks about our adoption into his family.

Ephesians 1:5

God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.
Daniel and Judah, we are overjoyed that God allowed us to adopt you into our family, and bring you to us. This is what we wanted so desperately to do, and it has given us such great pleasure.

Leave a comment